My Friend the Bard

September 5, 2008

Inspiration. For some people, it comes in spades. The rest of us can only sit in awe as artists, musicians, and filmmakers like Herman Herzog, Bob Dylan, and Martin Scorsese make history with their amazing masterpieces. I personally believe that I might be watching such a phenomenon first hand.

Lee James used to be a hazy face from my high school past, like so many others that set off in seperate directions. At the time, there were many would-be musicians who proudly brought their guitars every once in a while. Their attempts to woo onlookers often were clumsy off key. However, this was never the case with Lee. I remember hearing him play Purple Haze once, and it was actually pretty good. Truth be told, it was Lee who got me interested in Jimi Hendrix.

Lee has grown in ways I could never have imagined. For one thing, he is a man of faith. In fact, it seems every time I talk to the guy he blurts out “praise God!” And with his boundless inspiration and enthusiasm, who could blame him? Not only is he intent on releasing very ambitious work, he is saving lives in his spare time. Literally, as well as spritually and inspirationally. He treated a crash victim for shock, and then motivated her to look at her life in a whole new way.

You’d think it would be easy for me to like him, but as a former victim of writer’s block, I sometimes can’t help being jealous. You might think that I might have it again due to my lack of posts over the past week, but that is not the case. In a sense, I suffer from having too much to say, not too little. I suspect Lee might have had an inspirational effect on me as well. If he hasn’t already, his offer has.

Lee asked me to help him make a music video for a song that he believes in very, very strongly. He has something really big in mind, too. He says that this song is different because it will bring Harmony to the world.  I won’t spoil the surprise, but I will say he’s looking for volunteers to lend their voices. If you are interested in my dear friends  music making, you can contact him at leeh2o@gmail.com .

I personally look forward to working with him sometime in the near future.

Leave a Reply

